west 1

Common Foods Containing Dairy

 

butter

milk

cream

whey

cheese

yogurt

ice cream

casein

Dairy Substitutes

Butter- Earth Balance Margarine

Milk- soy milk, rice milk, almond milk, coconut milk, oat milk

Coffee creamer- Silk soy creamer, SoDelicious coconut creamer, CoffeeMate almond milk creamer

Cheese- Follow Your Heart cheese, Daiya cheese, Teese cheese

Cream cheese- Go Veggie cream cheese, Tofutti cream cheese

Ice cream- Almond Dream ice cream, Ben & Jerry's non-dairy ice cream, Booja Booja cashew ice cream, Steve's coconut ice cream

Yogurt- Stonyfield's o'soy, Good Karma flax milk yogurt, Cocoyo coconut yogurt, Silk dairy-free yogurt (both soy and almond)

Go Dairy Free

 

 

By Alisa Fleming

This book contains 250 recipes free of dairy, lactose, and caesin. For more of her dairy free resources, click on the picture.

 

Lactose Intolerance vs Dairy Allergy

Many people confuse a dairy allergy with being lactose intolerant, but they are two different conditions. When someone is lactose intolerant, their body cannot break down milk sugars (lactose) resulting in stomach pains and diarrhea. When someone is allergic to dairy, their immune system fights the dairy protein., and the main difference is that having a dairy allergy can be life threatening to some people. Additional symptoms of dairy allergies include hives, vomiting, swelling of lips or throat, and wheezing. 

Going Vegan

When someone goes vegan, they choose not to consume any animal products. This includes dairy, eggs, honey and meat. When someone decides to "go vegan" it is typically by choice, however, if you are allergic to dairy and eggs, this may be something to consider. If you go to a restaurant and tell them you are on a vegan diet, they will know exactly what to eliminate from your food. Some restaurants even label vegan options on the menu which makes it easier to spot safe options.